Cinnamon Roll Cake

Today is another wonderful and finally gray Oregon day, that of course means tank top, jeans, and flip flops if you’re a native Oregonian : ) This also gives me the desire to bake for my husbands co-workers. One of them has been asking about baked goods for a few days now, so I thought I would oblige them.  Now since they can all have gluten thats what I make them, and as I was going over some recipes that I have pinned and felt inspired to try and make Cookin’ Up North’s Cinnamon Roll Cake (with my own alterations) instead of my normal cookies. I double checked with my husbands co-workers and they approved of this baking adventure.

Ok quick note, while I was baking this it made the house smell magical! Oh good gravy, I really need to attempt to make this gluten-free. I have not had good gluten-free cinnamon anything in ages. Oh I also added mini marshmallows to half of the pan and nutmeg to the topping. I used the same chop stick that I swirled the cinnamon mixture with to kind of push them down. Also I don’t have a convection oven so I ended up having to increase my cook time by at least 10 minutes and I still had a few soft spots (but everyone actually seemed to enjoy that, yay!), and I also had to almost double my glaze (I altered the recipe for that down below).

Overall I like this recipe, and  it was a huge hit with my husband and his co-workers : ) So enjoy!

Cinnamon Roll Cake

Cake Ingredients

3 cups        Flour

Pinch         Salt

1 cup          Sugar

4 tsp           Baking powder

1.5 cup      Milk

2                  Eggs

3 tsp           Vanilla (original recipe calls only for 2 tsp but I always add more than a recipe calls for, so I really added about 3-4 tsp)

1/2 cup      Melted butter

Topping Ingredients

1 cup           Butter softened

1 cup           Brown sugar (heaped)

2 Tbsp        Flour

2 Tbsp      Cinnamon (The original calls only for 1.5, but I used closer to 2-2.5 Tbsp)

2 tsp           Nutmeg

Glaze Ingredients

3 cup          Powered sugar

3/4 cup       Milk (I would start with 1/2 cup and go from there)

3 tsp           Vanilla (The original recipe calls only for 1 tsp)

Directions 

For the cake in a large bowl or stand mixer stir together  the dry ingredients then add the vanilla, milk, and eggs. Once that is mixed slowly mix in the melted butter. After that is completely  mixed, pour the cake batter into a greased 13″ x 9″ and set aside until the topping is done. Now just mix all of the topping ingredients together in a separate bowl and sprinkle evenly over the top of the cake, and then swirl it into the batter with a butter knife or (if you have one) a chop stick. Bake at 350• F for 28-32 minutes.

Once this amazingness comes out of the oven, mix the glaze in a bowl and drizzle it over the top. So good!

Hope  you enjoy this as much as my husband and his co-workers!!

♥ JoyLynn

Leave a Reply

