Crock Pot and Cookies

Crock Pot

So last night I got the whim to use my wonderful Hamilton crock pot. So I chopped up some zucchini threw in some brocoli, chopped a small onion and did a light pan sear on some chicken thighs. I then put the chicken thighs in with the veggies and added Better Than Bouillon organic chicken base, garlic powder, salt, a pinch of cyan pepper, and about 4+ cups of milk (enough to cover). I then let that cook on low over night. I woud post a picture here but I forgot to and now it’s in the fridge waiting to be blended to a smooth consistency with my Cuisinart hand blender. I’ll take a picture once it looks pretty again : )

 Cookies

Today is a lovely misty Oregon day, so of course that inspires lots of tea drinking and cookie baking. So I decided to make a Crackle Top Molasses Cookie recipe that I found and altered adding some ingredients and made it gluten free.

For the gluten free flour I mixed the last bits of a box of Arrowheads Mills All Purpose Baking Mix and Bob’s Red Mill Baking Mix in a gallon bag and just used that instead of the regular bleached all purpose (gluten) flour. Quick side note, I love Bob’s Red Mill gluten free flours for the most part except for the All Purpose Baking Mix because they use this garbanzo bean flour that leaves a grose after tast, so I usually try and avoid it but mixed with the Arrowheads flour (which I really like) helped tame that garbanzo bean flavor. You can use whatever gluten free baking mix you would like, this is just what I had in my pantry at the moment.  Now for the recipe!

Crackle Top Molasses Cookies

Ingredients –

2/3 cup  Vegetable or olive oil

1 cup       White sugar

1               Egg

1/3 cup  Gluten free molasses

2 cup      All purpose flour (gluten free if you are allergic)

2 tsp       Gluten free baking soda

1 tsp       Cinnamon (I always heap the measurement)

1 tsp       Ground ginger

1/2 tsp  Ground cloves (I used nutmeg because I was out of cloves and it worked great)

1 tsp      Gluten free vanilla

  • In a large bowl mix the oil, sugar, and egg until well blended.
  • Then add the baking soda, molasses, and baking soda.
  • After that is blended together slowly add in the flour.
  • Once the flour is mixed in take the dough in about tablespoon amounts and roll it into balls and then in sugar.
  • Bake at 350• F for 12-14 minutes, or until the tops of the cookies crack.
♥ JoyLynn
Leave a Reply

