Come and Get it!

 

So as many of my friends can tell you I love to cook for others. So I think it might be time to start documenting some of my cooking adventures just for fun and also so I can remember any alterations that I have done to a recipe because I figured I could make it better or because I am allergic to gluten (I don’t have have full on celiac but I do have a strong intolerance to it).  So when I make some thing that is gluten free I will make note 🙂

Anywho, my main cooking counterpart as of late is Miss K.W. I know her from college and mutual friends and she wonderful to cook and or just hang out with. Some of our past adventures include hand picking blackberries and making blackberry muffins with a lemon crumble on top and  a fantastic cheat on blackberry syrup that we then put over vanilla ice cream. I apologize for not having any pictures, but there will be some in the coming posts.

I would also like to start putting some helpful basic cooking tips on here as well, for example-

  • If you are making a sauce or gravy that requires corn starch the best way to add it is to mix it into one of the other required liquids fist and then add it to the pan. I have saved a small screw top jar that I just shake it in. 
  • You also have to make sure that the liquid  you are adding the corn starch to is cold NOT warm or hot as it will just lump if you do and then there is no coming back from that.
  • Corn starch also makes your sauces/gravies shinier and not so flat looking 🙂

Well that is all for now but there will be more to come shortly as I have just seen a recipe for S’Mores Cups and I still have a ton of fresh blackberries to pick! 

Till next time!

          JoyLynn

Leave a Reply

